South Sudan COVID-19 Country Preparedness and Response Plan (April to September 2020)


Emerging and re-emerging pathogens remain a great challenge to public health. A cluster of cases of
pneumonia of unknown etiology, in Wuhan City, Hubei Province was reported to WHO on 31 December
2019 Subsequent investigations revealed that the cluster was caused by a novel coronavirus, later named
Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) infection with the initial cases linked to a seafood market in
Wuhan. As of 17 March 2020, a total of 179,112 confirmed cases including 7,426 death have been
reported from 159 countries/ territories/ areas globally. In Africa, COVID-19 cases have been confirmed in
Egypt, Algeria, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Cameroon, Togo, Democratic Republic of the
Congo (DRC), Cote d’Ivoire, Burkina Faso, Tunisia, Ghana, Gabon, Ethiopia, Guinea, Kenya, Equatorial
Guinea, Mauritania, Namibia, Rwanda, Congo, Seychelles, Eswatini, United Republic of Tanzania, Sudan, Somalia,
Benin, Liberia and Central African Republic. Whereas most of the confirmed cases in African Region are
imported, Egypt, Algeria, Tunisia, Senegal, Rwanda, Morocco, Ethiopia, South Africa and Cameroon have
reported local transmission of COVID-19. While new cases in China shows decline, new cases outside of
china is increasing rapidly (see figure 1); hence, the WHO risk assessment indicates the risk levels in
China, the Regions and Globally very ‘high risk’.